Aside

Tree walk

20 Sep

I set my head on the desk, shut my eyes, and drifted off to ‘la-la land’- the place where dreams come true. I was walking down one of my old neighborhood streets, which in the dream is now abandoned, and continued walking until I got to a cul de sac. There’s a sidewalk that leads from this neighborhood to the public school nearby, which has a soccer field. I walked down this side walk until I got to the soccer fields and past the fields until *WHAM* I hit an old oak tree. City ordinance will not let trees over two hundred years old to be cut down. This tree looks like the tree from Avatar, but is much smaller. Imagine a very large oak tree awkwardly sitting in the middle of a meadow. Multiple soccer goals are about half a mile away, so all there is on this meadow is this oak tree awkwardly sitting in the middle of the meadow. It has no tree friends, just that one tree. Its roots span out for a few feet and it is a very large tree. It rises about two story levels. When you look at the tree it doesn’t look like your generic tree, but an ancient oak tree. It’s massive with large bumps on it, like warts. Scanning the tree you would think it is a hundred or so years old… The tree did not have anything, besides comfort. It was a warm and sunny day in this dream, so I was without sunglasses. The tree did provide shade.

When I went for this walk and meditation, I did not find a doorway. I sat on one of the tree roots and fell asleep.

Leave a comment