Venting about research process

11 Oct

So far, the research process has been confusing in various aspects. I suspected it would be labor-intensive and time consuming, but I also thought there  might be able a slight chance to put off working on the subject, procrastinating for a little bit, and work on my other subjects… but I was wrong. You have to hop right on the subject once you have an inkling of what you want to do or you’ll be persuaded by inner thoughts. Persuaded by your inner-thoughts to hop around from different aspects of the topic to another, like oh that’ll work or that too! We started and had to think of a topic and my head was SWARMING with ideas, controversial topics. I had a few ideas in mind and I thought the research project is a broad idea. I, again, was wrong. The subject was to be narrowed down to a research question that defines the paper. It was a relief to know the question would change over time, but it killed me it had to be narrow. What would I write specifically about this topic? I hardly know anything about my topic. Hell, I’m a straight white boy… I have no background knowledge of the topic other than my best friend is gay and so is my cousin. So we had to dive into research and surface with an even narrower topic, basically an aspect of the topic. I felt cornered, since you can go about the topic in many ways. I still feel cornered because I’m uncertain about my research topic. I know the subject definitely, but to narrow it down and skim off one aspect of that subject I do not know much about.. That’s difficult for me. I thought at first finding resources would be an issue, then the floodgates opened. I was flooded with resources and I had to choose which resource would fit. It’s like deciding which enzyme fits into the catalyst.  With more added to the process, I continue to be frustrated by my inner-self not knowing of which aspect I want to narrow my topic down to. Although, I have a feeling I’ll figure it out.

Leave a comment